Software Defined Access Roles and Components

The software defined access fabric requires multiple roles and components to operate. Each software defined access enabled device must be configured with at least one of these roles.

The five basic roles in a fabric overlay are:

Control Plane Node

The control plane node contains the settings, protocols and mapping tables to provide the EID-to-RLOC mapping system for the fabric overlay

Fabric Border Node

The fabric device connects external Layer 3 networks into the software defined access fabric

Fabric Edge Node

The fabric edge node connects wired endpoints into the software defined access fabric

Fabric WLAN Controller

The fabric WLAN controller connects access points and endpoint wireless devices into the software defined access fabric

Intermediate Node

Intermediate nodes are routers or switches that don’t provide a specific software defined access role but do help with the underlay service



, ,




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.