Cisco Live 2019 – Ceritifying with the New Cisco Exams

Cisco Live has been and gone for another year, the biggest highlight being a huge shake up to the Cisco Certification Journey. Lets go through the first three levelsd of certification, CCENT, CCNA and finally CCNP.

Cisco Certified Entry Network Technician (CCENT) will be no more as Cisco have condensed the Cisco Certified Network Assocate (CCNA) down to a single exam for certification. In fact the entire CCNA level is just one exam with no further specialisation into categories like Voice, Wireless, and Security.

Certification LevelOld ExamsNew Exams
Routing & Switching
100-105 ICND1 No longer certifiable
Routing & Switching

100-105 ICND1
200-105 ICND2
200-125 CCNA
CCNA 200-301

So where did the specialisation exams go? They have been moved up a level to the Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP)

The Cisco Certified Network Professional are where the bulk of the changes are happening.

The three exams required for the Cisco Certified Professional: Routing and Switching are being retired, that being 300-101 ROUTE, 300-115 SWITCH and 300-135 TSHOOT.

Instead, 7 exams are being released for getting a Cisco Certified Professional, not Routing and Switching, but Enterprise!

To clarify, CCNP: Routing and Switching is being retired, being replaced with CCNP: Enterprise.

What are the exams then and do you need to pass all 7? Actually only one is mandoratory to pass, and you simply choose one out of the other six to pass in order to get certification.

Mandoratory Exam: 300-401 ENCOR
Choose One Of: 300-410 ENARSI
300-415 ENSDWI
300-420 ENSLD
300-425 ENWLSD
300-430 ENWLSI
300-435 ENAUTO


TSHOOT Topology

The new TSHOOT exam requires you to isolate issues on a defined network topology. The purpose of the exam is to evaluate troubleshooting skills, not how quickly you can grasp a network topology you have never seen. To this end, it is Cisco’s intent that the exam network topology be available for review before the candidate attempt the exam.


As practice I mirrored the topology in the linked thread to an easy to read topology below.




A - VLAN 10 - - -
B - VLAN 20 -
DSW1 -
DSW2 -
C - DSW1 <-> R4 -
DSW1 -
R4 -
D - DSW2 <-> R4 -
DSW2 - 
R4 -
E - R4 <-> R3 -
R4 -
R3 -
F - R3 <-> R2 -
R3 -
R2 -
G - R2 <-> R1 -
R2 -
R1 -
H - R1 <-> WAN -
R1 -
ISP Router -
X - Link between DSW1 and DSW2 (not shown) -
DSW1 -
DSW2 -
Cisco ICND1

Questions on the OSI Model

Starting from the lowest layer to the highest,  in order, name the layers of the OSI Model?

  1. Application
  2. Data Link
  3. Presentation
  4. Network
  5. Transport
  6. Physical
  7. Session
  8. Transport Control Protocol
  9. Internet Protocol


1. Physical 2. Datalink 3. Network 4. Transport 5. Session 6. Presentation 7. Application


Cisco ICND1

The Open System Interconnection (OSI) Model

The Open System Interconnection model is a conceuptual model that standardises the communication functions of a network system.

The OSI model divides the communication functions into seven different sections, which ranges from the physical method of connection and transmission at the lowest part of the model (e.g. a CAT5 network cable) to the application that communicates over the network at the highest part of the model (e.g. HTTP with Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome)

For new network engineers, the OSI model is a great place to start in order to get familar with how data gets across a typical network.

Open Systems Interconnection model, featuring the 7 layers
The Open Systems Interconnection model

Layer 1 – Physical Layer

The physical layer represents the hardware that sends and recieves the stream of bits (0’s and 1’s)  through the physical network connection. Many methods of physical connection exist such as electrical via twisted pair cable, laser light via a fibre connection, or radio using a wireless access point. If the Layer 1 physical connection between devices does not exist, the rest of the layers (2-7) will not function.

Layer 2 – Data Link

Layer 2 controls how packets from the upper layers are encoded into bits, and decoded from bits into packets from the physical layer. The data link layer also provides error and flow control to packets transmitting across media.  MAC addresses feature at this layer, a permanent unique address associated with the network hardware to identify it among network endpoints.

Layer 3 – Network Layer

The network layer is where IP addressing and packet routing is handled to enable data transmission. Decisons of where and what method a packet is routed is most commonly determined at network layer.

Layer 4 – Transport Layer

TCP and UDP function at the transport layer.  The transport layer manages converting network data into packets to be routed across a network. The management and some cases error checking of these packets is performed at this layer.

Layer 5 – Session Layer

The session layer is responsible for the setting up, co-ordination and termination of conversations between two network devices. TCP and UDP provide the services at this layer as well as on the transport layer.

Layer 6 – Presentation Layer

Layer 6 is usually part of the operating system on the hardware, which converts the incoming and outgoing packets into a recognised format within the operating system.

Layer 7 – Application Layer

The application is layer is a platform in which an application on the operating system itself can use to establish whether it can perform communications over the network. It provides services to the application on the operating system allowing the application to decide whether it can communicate over the network at that moment, or even whether there is a network or end point to communicate too.

Layer 8 – Human Layer (Unofficially)

Some network engineers joke about a network issue being at Layer 8, the human that is driving or operating the device 🙂