Network Diagnostics: syslog

Devices can generate large amounts of information.

The information can be sent to the device logging buffer, onto the console screen, or to a syslog server. Different logging levels can be set for all three.

Level DefinitionLevelDescriptionsyslog Definition
emergencies0System UnstableLOG_EMERG
alerts1Immediate Action NeededLOG_ALERT
critical2Critical ConditionLOG_CRIT
errors3Error ConditionLOG_ERR
warnings4Warning ConditionLOG_WARNING
notifications5Normal but significant conditionLOG_NOTICE
informational6Informational MessageLOG_INFO
debugging7Debugging MessageLOG_DEBUG
Levels of logging

Logging to Memory Buffer

Logging can be enabled to the buffer with the command logging buffer followed by the logging level chosen numerically (0-7) or by definition (debugging, errors, alerts)

The default size of the logging buffer is only 4096 bytes, so it is a good idea to extend it with the command logging buffer followed by the size in bytes.

Logging to Syslog Server

Logging to a syslog server can be carried out with the command logging host followed by the IP address of the host

To modify the logging level used with syslog, use the command logging trap followed by the logging level of detail required numerically



, ,




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.